Skilled nursing facilities in Massachusetts are posting LPN vacancies faster than local programs can graduate candidates to fill them. Home health agencies and community health centers report similar shortages, particularly outside the Boston metro, where practical nurses, the middle tier in the CNA vs LPN vs RN framework, handle wound care, medication administration, and chronic disease management for an aging patient population.
Around 20 board-approved practical nursing programs operate statewide, from Massachusetts Bay Community College near Boston to Berkshire Community College in the western part of the state, giving you several regional entry points to start your journey in practical nursing. Tuition, class size, and clinical placements vary enough that geography alone should not drive your choice.
Seats fill quickly, and admissions committees favor applicants with strong prerequisite grades over those who apply late in the cycle.
Best LPN Programs in Massachusetts for 2027
Massachusetts practical nursing certificates cluster tightly inside the community college system, so most of the strongest options sit in a similar tuition band and differ mainly in start dates, clinical partnerships, and how fast they move you toward the NCLEX-PN. The nine programs below stretch from the Berkshires to the South Shore. Where a school has published graduate earnings, that figure appears with the program it belongs to; where it has not, the card says so plainly instead of guessing.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt levels
- Net price after financial aid
- Graduate earnings after completion
- Program completion volume
- Institutional graduation rates
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
Holyoke Community College
Holyoke Community College's 45-credit Practical Nursing Certificate is ACEN accredited and approved by the Massachusetts nursing board. Admission assumes prior patient care experience, and students must hold a C+ or better in every required course. The college sits inside a state-funded Western Massachusetts nurse training pipeline tied to Baystate Medical Center and MassHire Hampden County.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Greenfield Community College
Greenfield Community College offers a 43-credit Practical Nursing certificate that can be finished in about ten months with no entrance exam required. The program reports an 86% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate and says all of its 2025 respondents were working as practical nurses within six months. Credits carry into the college's associate degree in nursing for graduates who want to keep going.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Berkshire Community College
Berkshire Community College's Practical Nurse certificate combines lecture, lab, and clinical work in adult health, gerontology, and family care. Its standout feature is a Talent Pipeline with Berkshire Health Systems that can carry a student through debt-free in exchange for a commitment to work locally, and the program reports a 95% NCLEX-PN pass rate with regional wages around $35 an hour. Institution-wide, the college graduates about 20% of its students.
Practical Nurse (Certificate) — On-Campus
Massachusetts Bay Community College
Massachusetts Bay Community College runs its Practical Nursing Certificate as a 40-week, full-time program starting each fall on the Framingham campus, and reports a 100% NCLEX-PN pass rate. Cohorts are intentionally small, and clinical placements span hospitals, clinics, and long-term care. Across all of its programs, the college graduates about 17% of its students.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Northern Essex Community College
Northern Essex Community College's Practical Nursing Certificate combines classroom study, lab practice, and supervised clinicals in hospitals, clinics, and schools at $346 per credit for in-state students. The program reports an 85% licensure pass rate and a 100% job placement rate, and credits transfer into the college's associate degree in nursing. Institution-wide, the college graduates about 21% of its students.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Mount Wachusett Community College
Mount Wachusett Community College frames its seven-course Practical Nursing Certificate as a one-year LPN pathway, with a September 1 application deadline for a January start. The program reports a 96% NCLEX-PN pass rate, though that figure dates from an earlier cohort, and a TEAS entrance exam is required. Across all programs, the college graduates about 24% of its students.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Quinsigamond Community College
Quinsigamond Community College's 46-credit Practical Nursing Certificate runs five semesters in a hybrid format with weekend and evening clinical options, which suits students who cannot attend full-time during the week. It is ACEN accredited, reports a 97.5% NCLEX pass rate in 2024, and waives the TEAS requirement for applicants who already hold an advanced degree. Institution-wide, the college graduates about 22% of its students.
Practical Nursing Certificate — Hybrid
Quincy College
Quincy College's ten-month Practical Nursing certificate runs on the Quincy and Plymouth campuses with fall and spring starts, and applications for the fall 2026 cohort are open through May 31, 2026. The program holds full state approval and has been an ACEN accreditation candidate since February 2025, meaning it is not yet fully accredited. Institution-wide, the college graduates about 15% of its students.
Certificate of Completion in Practical Nursing — On-Campus
North Shore Community College
North Shore Community College's ten-month Practical Nursing Certificate places students in hospitals, long-term care, home health, and community settings, and the program reports a 95% licensure pass rate alongside an 89% job placement rate. Availability is the catch for 2026: the college has listed the program as closed for the fall 2025 and fall 2026 cohorts, and a mandatory information session is required before applying. Institution-wide, the college graduates about 18% of its students.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Most Affordable Practical Nursing Programs in Massachusetts
The five community college programs below represent the lowest net prices among Massachusetts practical nursing certificates, based on institution-wide averages after financial aid. Actual out-of-pocket cost will vary depending on your individual aid package, so treat these figures as a starting point rather than a guarantee. Students pursuing these programs should file the FAFSA or MASFA early to unlock state grants such as MASSGrant Plus, the Community College Nursing Scholarship, and the High Demand Scholarship. Programs at community colleges may also qualify for MassReconnect or MassEducate, which can cover tuition and fees for eligible students. Beyond state aid, the Massachusetts Career Ladder Program offers employer-sponsored support of up to $20,000 in tuition and related costs, plus a weekly stipend of $440 for living expenses while you train. Department of Developmental Services employees who have worked full time for at least two years can apply for the DDS LPN Certificate Program, which fully funds tuition and fees (up to $20,000) and provides 32 hours per week of paid educational leave. Between these programs and federal Pell Grants, some students may pay little or nothing out of pocket, which is worth exploring if you have searched for free LPN programs in Massachusetts.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Average Net Price (After Aid) | Pell Grant Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Essex Community College | Haverhill | $6,732 | $6,046 | 79% |
| Massachusetts Bay Community College | Wellesley Hills | $5,856 | $7,169 | 76% |
| Greenfield Community College | Greenfield | $5,810 | $7,679 | 78% |
| Mount Wachusett Community College | Gardner | $6,160 | $7,931 | 73% |
| Holyoke Community College | Holyoke | $5,988 | $8,068 | 80% |
Total Cost of LPN School in Massachusetts
Tuition is only part of what you will pay to become a licensed practical nurse in Massachusetts. Below is a realistic breakdown of the major cost categories, from classroom to clipboard. Amounts outside tuition are based on representative program handbooks and current state and exam fees for 2025-2026. Actual totals will vary by school, so request an itemized cost sheet before you enroll.

Fastest LPN Programs in Massachusetts
Most Massachusetts practical nursing programs follow a 10-month, full-time schedule, making them among the fastest healthcare credentials you can earn. While you may see searches for an "8 week LPN program," no legitimate practical nursing certificate in the state can be completed in that timeframe because of mandatory clinical hours and Board of Nursing curriculum requirements. The real distinction among fast-track options is schedule format: daytime programs typically run Monday through Friday during traditional hours, while evening tracks stretch the same curriculum across a longer window. Accelerated day programs generally require full-time daytime attendance, so be sure your schedule can accommodate that commitment before applying. Prerequisite completion deadlines can also be stricter at programs with a single annual start date, so contact each school early to confirm what must be finished before orientation.
| School | Location | Program Length | Schedule Format | Notable Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Shore Community College | Danvers, MA | 10 months | Day | ACEN-accredited program |
| Northern Essex Community College | Lawrence, MA | 10 months | Day | Fall-only start; clinical rotations Thursday and Friday |
| McCann Technical School | North Adams, MA | 10 months | Day | Classes run Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. |
| Tri-County RVTHS | Franklin, MA | 10 months (day) or 20 months (evening) | Day and evening tracks available | Day track runs September through June; evening sessions Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday |
| Bay Path Practical Nursing Academy | Charlton, MA | 40 weeks (approx. 10 months) | Evening | Mid-August through late June; in-district cost around $18,953 |
Explore other Massachusetts related topics
Related Articles
Selecting the Right LPN Program: What Actually Matters
A state-approved program with a stellar pass rate and a program with open seats are not the same thing, and knowing the difference will save you time, money, and frustration. Five factors consistently separate strong practical nursing programs from mediocre ones in Massachusetts.
Accreditation and Board Approval
Every LPN program you consider must hold active approval from the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing (BORN). Without it, you cannot sit for the NCLEX-PN or obtain a Massachusetts license. Some programs also carry national accreditation through ACEN, which can matter if you later transfer credits toward Massachusetts LPN to RN programs or a BSN. Mount Wachusett Community College, for example, holds both BORN approval and ACEN accreditation.
NCLEX-PN Pass Rates: The Quality Signal That Matters Most
First-time NCLEX-PN pass rates tell you, in concrete terms, how well a school prepares graduates for licensure. A program reporting 100 percent (as MassBay Community College has achieved) signals rigorous instruction and strong student support. The MA BORN publishes annual pass-rate reports, and you should review at least three years of data before committing. Programs that consistently fall below the national average deserve serious scrutiny, regardless of cost or convenience.
Clinical Placement Quality
Not all clinical arrangements are equal. Some programs guarantee placements at partner hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, and community health sites. Others expect students to secure their own rotations, which can delay graduation and limit the breadth of your training. During LPN/LVN program admissions, ask directly whether placements are arranged by the school or left to the student.
Schedule Flexibility for Working Students
If you are already working as a CNA or in another role, daytime-only programs may be off the table. Quinsigamond Community College offers a hybrid, five-semester format across 46 credits. Massasoit Community College runs an evening and part-time cohort. These options exist, but they are limited, so apply early.
CNA-to-LPN Pathways and Bridge Programs
A formal CNA-to-LPN bridge is uncommon in Massachusetts. Mount Wachusett Community College offers the most structured version: CNAs who earned their certification at MWCC and complete designated prerequisite courses receive automatic acceptance into the practical nursing program. At MassBay, holding a CNA certification earns extra points during competitive selection but does not reduce required coursework. The Broad Reach Healthcare partnership on Cape Cod covers full tuition at Upper Cape Tech for CNAs employed by the organization, though that is an employer-sponsored arrangement rather than a traditional academic bridge. The state Career Ladder Program provides roughly $440 per week to CNAs enrolled in approved LPN programs, offering financial support without advanced academic standing.
Weigh all five factors together. A cheap program with poor pass rates or uncertain clinical sites is no bargain.
NCLEX-PN Pass Rates at Massachusetts LPN Programs
A program's NCLEX-PN first-time pass rate is one of the most reliable indicators of instructional quality. The national first-time pass rate for the NCLEX-PN stood at 88.4% in 2024, while Massachusetts PN candidates collectively posted an aggregate rate of roughly 86.6% across all education backgrounds that same year, according to data published by the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing. Among individual Board-approved programs, several consistently clear the 90% mark, while a handful fall below both the state and national benchmarks. Berkshire Community College led the field in 2024 at 95%, followed closely by Diman Regional School of Practical Nursing at 94%. Upper Cape Cod Regional Technical School reported a 90% pass rate for its most recent published cycle. On the other end, Assabet Valley Regional Technical School (83%) and Blackstone Valley Regional Vocational Technical School (88%) fell below the national average, a signal that prospective students should ask pointed questions about remediation support and exam prep resources before enrolling. Note that candidate counts were not published for most individual programs in the available reporting.
| School | Candidates | First-Time Pass Rate (2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Berkshire Community College | Not reported | 95% |
| Diman Regional School of Practical Nursing | Not reported | 94% |
| Upper Cape Cod Regional Technical School | 49 (2023) | 90% |
| Blackstone Valley Regional Vocational Technical School | Not reported | 88% |
| Bunker Hill Community College (program closed) | Not reported | 100% |
| Assabet Valley Regional Technical School | Not reported | 83% |
LPN Admissions Requirements in Massachusetts
Massachusetts practical nursing programs share a common set of admissions requirements, though cutoff scores and prerequisite expectations vary enough to affect where you should apply first. Here is what most programs expect before you can secure a seat.
- High School Diploma or GEDEvery accredited LPN program in Massachusetts requires proof of high school completion or an equivalent credential. Some programs also look at your high school GPA, particularly in science and math courses, while others have no minimum GPA requirement.
- TEAS Exam ScoreThe ATI TEAS is the standard entrance exam across most Massachusetts programs. Typical minimum composite scores range from 58% to 65%, depending on the school. Programs with lower TEAS thresholds, closer to that 58% floor, tend to be easier to get into and can be a practical option if standardized testing is not your strongest suit. Check each program's website for the most current cutoff, as competitive cohorts sometimes push effective minimums higher.
- Prerequisite CourseworkMost programs require completed coursework in anatomy and physiology and basic math. Some also ask for introductory biology or medical terminology. A few schools let you co-enroll in prerequisites alongside the nursing curriculum, but the majority expect them finished before your start date.
- Background Check and Drug ScreeningA clean criminal background check and a negative drug screen are non-negotiable for clinical placement. Results typically must be current within 90 days of the program start. Any flagged items can delay or disqualify admission, so begin the process early.
- CPR/BLS CertificationYou will need a current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification through the American Heart Association. Online-only certifications are generally not accepted, programs require the in-person skills component. Plan to complete or renew this before orientation.
- Immunization Records and Physical ExamUp-to-date immunizations, including hepatitis B, MMR, varicella, Tdap, and an annual flu shot, along with a recent physical exam and TB screening are required before clinical rotations begin. Some programs also require COVID-19 vaccination, depending on clinical site policies.
- Rolling vs. Fixed Cohort AdmissionsMassachusetts LPN programs split roughly between rolling admissions and fixed cohort start dates. Rolling-admission programs accept applications year-round and fill seats on a first-qualified, first-seated basis, which can shorten your wait time. Fixed-cohort programs typically start once or twice a year and may be more competitive. If speed matters, targeting a rolling-admission school with a lower TEAS threshold can be the fastest path into a classroom.
LPN Salary and Job Outlook in Massachusetts
How much do LPNs actually earn in Massachusetts, and is the pay gap with other states worth factoring into your program decision?
The short answer: Massachusetts pays its practical nurses well above the national average, and the Top States for LPN/LVNs guide puts that state-level difference in context. The mean annual wage for LPNs in the state is approximately $73,4001, compared to a national median of $64,4002. That difference adds up fast over a career, and it reflects both the cost of living in the state and the sustained demand for bedside nurses across settings.
Earning Range From Entry Level to Experienced
Entry-level LPNs in Massachusetts can expect to start in the low-to-mid $50,000s, which corresponds roughly to the 10th percentile for the occupation nationally. Experienced LPNs working in specialized settings or taking on charge-nurse responsibilities often push past $90,000, particularly in metro areas with higher compensation scales. The gap between starting wages and top earners is wide enough to reward longevity and clinical specialization.
Pay by Metro Area
Wage data for Massachusetts is available at the metropolitan level3, and the variation matters. The Boston-Cambridge-Nashua corridor consistently offers the highest compensation, driven by the concentration of hospitals, rehabilitation centers, and physician group practices , the same metro area covered in our Best LPN Programs in Boston 2026 guide. The Worcester and Springfield metros offer competitive pay as well, though slightly below the Boston area. Cape Cod and the Islands tend to pay seasonal premiums in home health and long-term care, though year-round positions can be fewer in number. If you are weighing where to work after graduation, geography is a real variable in your take-home pay.
What Recent Graduates Earn
BLS figures describe the broader occupation, but what recent graduates of specific Massachusetts LPN programs earn in their first year or two after completing their certificate is a separate data point. Program-level earnings data is not yet available for all schools on our list, so we cannot paint a complete picture. When this information is published, it will give prospective students a more granular view of which programs translate most directly into strong early-career wages.
Where the Jobs Are
Nursing care facilities remain the single largest employer of LPNs in Massachusetts, followed by home health services and physician offices. Statewide employment sits near 13,8901 positions, and projected growth tracks with national trends2 driven by an aging population and expanded home-based care models. For graduates pursuing licensed practical nurse careers in long-term care or home health, the hiring pipeline is short and steady.
Massachusetts LPN Earnings at a Glance
Massachusetts LPNs out-earn the national median of roughly $59,730, reflecting the state's higher cost of living and strong demand for practical nurses across long-term care, ambulatory, and acute-care settings.







